What is BLS Certification?

by Watson Factius

Becoming a certified BLS provider is the first step in becoming a healthcare professional. BLS certification stands for Basic Life Support certification and indicates that the provider has the skills and knowledge necessary to perform CPR and other basic life-saving techniques. The BLS certification is valid for two years and must be renewed every two years.

Why Become a BLS Provider?

CPR is a life-saving skill that everyone should know. As a BLS provider, you will have the skills and knowledge necessary to save lives. Additionally, many healthcare employers require their employees to be certified in BLS. Becoming a BLS provider will make you a more competitive job candidate and can help you advance your career.

How to Become a BLS Provider

You can become a BLS provider by taking a certified course offered by the American Heart Association (AHA). The AHA offers both online and in-person courses. Taking an in-person course is the best way to learn CPR, as it provides hands-on practice with an AHA-certified instructor. Online courses are also available, but they do not provide the same level of instruction and practice.

Once you have completed a certified course, you will need to pass a written and skills test in order to receive your BLS certification. The written test covers the material taught in the course, and the skills test requires you to demonstrate your ability to perform CPR and other basic life-saving techniques.

Renewing Your BLS Certification

Your BLS certification is valid for two years. To renew your certification, you will need to take a certified course and pass the written and skills tests again. You can also renew your certification online by taking an AHA-approved refresher course.

BLS Certification for Healthcare Professionals

In addition to BLS certification, healthcare professionals may also need to obtain Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support (ACLS) or Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certification. ACLS and PALS are advanced life-saving skills courses that build on the material taught in the BLS course. These courses are typically only required for healthcare professionals, such as nurses, doctors, and paramedics

Watson Factius

Related Posts

Leave a Comment